How it Works

Explore the self-assessment guidelines, information, summary of the criteria, and sample metrics. The examples of metrics include 14 of the almost 150 metrics that are in the Self-Assessment. For each metric you will be able to score your community selecting one of the six levels that best represent your community’s achievement.

Participating communities have access to the following resources:

Self-assessment guidelines and information

The areas to be scored in your community:

  • All areas (municipal, commercial and residential) to be scored must be within the boundaries of the community/municipality (except as noted below) and a representative portion of all areas must be included.
  • Property to be scored, whether public or private, must be subject to the codes and regulations of the community/municipality.
  • When a property does not meet these requirements, but the community’s volunteers significantly impact the areas with labor and/or funding, then include the property.
  • Future projects and programs should not be scored. As they reach fruition, they can be scored in future years.

Score your community in each metric using one of these six rating levels:

  • N/A (Not Applicable): Use N/A when a metric is not scorable in your community. Here are a few examples of when N/A may apply in a metric: commercial/business areas do not exist; state or county statutes prevent implementation of a metric.
  • Not Started: programs or procedures are not in place
  • Launching: programs or procedures are under consideration
  • Approaching: programs or procedures are in place but not fully realized
  • Achieved: programs or procedures are implemented but need improvement
  • Excelling: programs or procedures are implemented, and no improvements are needed

Self-Assessment Summary